Degrees and equivalences > Campus France Kenya
A degree system harmonized across the European Union.



French higher education employs the "LMD system"—licence, master, doctorate—now used throughout the European Union. The system is designed to facilitate student mobility within Europe and around the world.

Using this common architecture, degrees are awarded on the basis of the number of semesters the student has completed since entering higher education and the corresponding number of ECTS credits earned. 

Licence: 6 semesters (3 years) completed and 180 ECTS credits earned

Master: 4 more semesters completed and 120 additional ECTS credits, for a total of 5 years of study and 300 ECTS credits earned

Doctorate: Usually obtained after 16 semesters (8 years)............Learn more